Home

DENZEL & KELLYI saw “Flight” at the weekend – the new Denzel Washington film. It’s a weird one – I was enjoying it, then started to get annoyed by it, concluded that I didn’t like it, but have thought a lot about it since. For my final verdict, check out my review in the local paper:

http://www.maidenhead-advertiser.co.uk/Entertainment/Cinema/Film-News/Review-Flight-28012013.htm

You’ll notice in the review that I mention the character of Nicole, who I dub as almost unneccessary. This isn’t to say that Kelly Reilly, who plays her, isn’t a superb actress, and I don’t mean to belittle her performance. When she does appear in the film, she is great. I first took notice of her when I watched the 2008 thriller “Eden Lake”. If you’ve never seen it, check it out. It’s technically a horror but was critically acclaimed due to its unique content – the movie focuses on a couple, played by Reilly and Michael Fassbender, who spend a weekend camping in a forest, only to be terrorized by a gang of violent teens, all freshly released from a borstal. Sounds a bit naff but it is terrifying – mostly because the threat these relentless young people pose is totally realistic. This is more likely to happen than a man in a mask making crank phone calls and jumping out at you from behind the fridge. It’s gritty, grainy, nasty British drama at it’s best and one of the best films I’ve seen!

– – A

EDEN LAKE

Leave a Reply

