Home

So, truth be told, after launching my new assignment last week on the eve of my 29th birthday, I then became distracted by actually celebrating said birthday. I have this tendency to bleed things dry when I get to be at the centre of them (“No!” I hear you cry), so last week was sort of Andrew Week. Anyway, that’s done now (had a great time by the way) and now its allllll about this.

There’s not a lot to report though at this stage. You’d think I could be forgiven for this, as I had other things going on, but if you think about it, 7 days have passed and I only have 358 to go. That’s precious time!

Project 2/9 did cause a slight stir…no, let’s call it a tremble…on Twitter. My blog automatically posts itself on my Twitter account when I publish a post. I then decided to forward it to the likes of Harry Bingham and Julie Powell, and in doing so came across the literarTWEETy agent Carole Blake, so sent it her way for the hell of it. She clearly didn’t read it and instead tweeted me back telling me that her “submission guidelines can be found on her website”, evidently thinking that I was trying to pitch a book to her. This then set a woman off, named Nicola Morgan, who is apparently an author (I’d never heard of her) who also didn’t bother to read the post properly and began to trash-talk me for trying to pitch to an agent via Twitter. This is a woman who is the author of a book called “Tweet Right” so she clearly has too much time on her hands. Carole Blake sort of left it at that, but Nicola Morgan then tweeted several times about how “young new authors should NEVER pitch on Twitter”. I get that Nicola – BUT I WASN’T PITCHING. I mean, JEEEEEZZZZZUUUSSSSSS.

I then tweeted HER, reiterating this and encouraging her to read my blog. She came back with some self-important tweet about being “busy, busy”. Okay Nic – not too busy to tweet THIRTY-TWO times a day (I picked a random date, 11th Jan, and that’s how many times she tweeted that day). Also, her Twitter wallpaper was taken at her kitchen table and she seems to be doing some freelance A-Level marking for Ed-excel, so perhaps “Tweet Right” didn’t sell too well.TWITTER

Perhaps I am making an enemy here – it just annoys me when people don’t read things properly. And this is what worries me today about the world of pitching and publishing. If someone doesn’t have the time on Twitter – a site where a post can only be 140 tiny little micro characters – to click on a link and see what it is before they tell me off for it, then are they really going to read someone’s manuscript. I guess that’s what part of this experiment is to find out.

Someone else had my back, however – Julia Hobsbawm, who tweeted this: “@caroleagent @nicolamorgan why so hardline on aspiring authors tweeting you? Does it matter so much? Inferior to slush pile? Digital slush?” I re-tweeted it. And then SHE re-tweeted one of my comments to Carole and Nicola. And who is Julia Hobsbawm?? Only a “networking guru” and Media Woman of the year 2012. Frankly, I think she was more qualified to write “Tweet Right”. I’ll do the foreword.

– – A

Leave a Reply

